Major Features of The First Law Commission, 1935


The first law commission was appointed by the Govt. of. India in 1835. Highly qualified legal experts & persons having familiarity with local systems were selected. Lord Macaulay was appointed as its Chairman. It had five members.

1. It drafted the Penal Law first. This later became the I.P.C.

2. then it drafted the Civil Procedure Code and the Limitation Act. Later they became Acts.

3. The lex loci Report.

Share this story

WhatsApp Channel Join Now